My New Favorite Exhibit

by lianna

Lately I have been spending an inordinate amount of time with the Tiling Table.  Many a roam mid have turned into “sit-and-make-a-pretty-pattern” and are over before I know it.  It’s funny, because although I’m in my third year of working at the Explo, I’ve spent very little time with this exhibit up until now.  Pattern blocks used to be one of my favorite activities in elementary school, so why has it taken me so long to rekindle my love for these little blocks?

 

When I was younger, I would always start with the same pattern: yellow hexagon in the middle with six red trapezoids to make a flower, with green triangles for a stem and leaves.  And don’t get me started on how frustrating it was to my six year old brain why those two of those darn green triangles wouldn’t make a square (if only I had known about right angles back then!).  Now, I’m super interested in making patterns that tesselate, especially ones that use the diamonds.  I like to imagine what a whole floor of these patterns would look like as I create them.

 

Here are a couple of my recent creations:

 

It started like this…

 

And 30 minutes later…

 

Honestly, I’m surprised it lasted as long as it did.

 

This one was an accidental optical illusion.  My original goal was to make a tessellating shape that had a square as the starting place and included diamonds.

 

 

 

Anybody else addicted to a particular exhibit right now?

