The Audacity of Hope

by Ann Bartkowski

Today was the first day of Field Trip Explainer Training for the 2009 semester.  We spent some time discussing our hopes for students who will take field trips here and share the museum with us this year.  Some common themes included hoping that we’d help these kids- especially those who struggle in school- to spark their curiosities, pique their interests, make connections, and have fun!
Here’s what everyone came up with:

I hope that the students leave the museum with a thousand questions that they never had thought about before.

I hope that a kid coming here on a field trip feels excited about science and art and sees everyday things in a new way after leaving.

I hope the kids will have a special connection with an exhibit or phenomenon that they will remember when they’re all grown up.

I hope that the youth that visit our museum would gain a new love of science and learning.  Make it feel fun.  I especially hope to reach students that struggle in traditional classes.

I hope kids will leave with an interest to keep exploring further than they did before they got here.

I hope that the students realize how much fun it can be to learn and discover/remember the joy of taking time to play with things and figure new things out.

I hope kids dare to question what is usually taken for granted.

I hope kids coming on field trips to the explo have an experience that is fun and gets them excited about learning.

I hope students become more excited to learn about the world around them.  I hope when they leave, the leave inspired to try and learn more.

I hope kids have fun, and take facts and info from an exhibit with them.

I want students to learn that science is more than just numbers and equations; it’s asking questions and having fun!

I hope students understand the process and methodology of science.  Basically, I want them to know how to ask questions about science.

I hope the kids leave the explo with their curiosity sparked and some fun memories.

I hope kids feel like they were successful at trying the exhibits, asking a good question, or figuring something out.

