I Like Songs

by Ann Bartkowski

Maybe it’s just because I am always singing them, but I feel like educational songs have been popping up all over the place lately.  Ryan J. can tell you every book of the bible, set to a delightful little tune (Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers. These are the books of the bible four.  Deuteronomy, Joshua, Judges.  If you stick around I’ll tell you some more!…) Several of the Explainers can sing the 50 United States in alphabetical order.  And despite not taking a history class since grade 11, I can still sing you the 44 US presidents in chronological order.  

Some of the explainers were also singing this brain song the other day from the acclaimed cartoon Pinky and the Brain. And just now, while cleaning my room, I found this song (set to the tune of the Hokey Pokey) about neurons.  During a brain dissection one day, these students from the Hamlin school burst into this song when I asked them if they had learned about neurons yet:  “You put the Na in. You take the K out. You put the Ca in, and the vesicles come out.  They travel ‘cross the synapse, into the dendrites, and that’s how thoughts come out!”

These songs are so dang catchy that I’m convinced I would have retained significantly more of the information I had to memorize in school if it had been taught to me in song format.  With all seriousness, I kind of wish it had been…

Adding to the collection of educational songs, Marcus, Gabriel, Ryan J., and I have made this music video -about how we hear with 2 ears- for your listening and viewing pleasure…

