A Book I Like

by Anne

image from publisher's websiteSome of you have started noticing the growing pile of books on my desk with interest. So, I’d like to recommend one of my favorite books on teaching and learning science: The Having of Wonderful Ideas by Eleanor Duckworth. This is a short, easy read that is eye opening and delightful. It is a forgiving book for daring educators; it reminds you that it’s worth trying out new ways of teaching and working through the difficult spots until something works. I love the way that she is so open about her own experiences–both the missteps and the successes. Also, she reminds us that children do have wonderful ideas about the way the world works, and we need to listen to them if we want to become good teachers. On second thought, just listening in general probably makes us better people. Anyway, happy reading.

