Crosswords and More Hybrid Fruit

by Ann Bartkowski

Lately, in the Explainer Lounge, it seems there is at least one crossword puzzle in progress at any given time. Yesterday when I got home from work, I tried to complete one of the puzzles we had started. When I got stuck on a 4-letter word for ‘wrinkly fruit’, I resorted to Google and discovered this website:

Rex Parker Does the NYTimes Crossword Puzzle might be the perfect solution for those of us who don’t want to be kept up at night pondering a 6-letter solution for ‘milk snakes’, yet don’t want to give our credit card numbers to 1-900-289-CLUE. Rex Parker, the self-proclaimed “166th Greatest Crossword Puzzle Solver In The Universe”, not only posts the solutions to the puzzles daily, but also comments on his crossword-completing process and answers he finds interesting.

Thanks to his blog, I now know UGLI is a Jamaican tangelo brand. And tangelos are orange/grapefruit/tangerine hybrids. Maybe I’ll incorporate Ugli into my next lunch club recipe. I bet wrinkly fruit would be good with lentils…

If you like this blog post, please help me out by taking 5 seconds to vote for me! I’m trying to win a contest to win a trip to tanzania and volunteer as a teacher!  Click here to vote! It just takes 2 clicks!

THANK YOU!

http://www.volunteerjournals.com/volunteer-travel-grants/entries/help-annie-teach-tanzania

UGLI

