There’s an Explainer in my basement!

by tribekat

Walking home this afternoon, I noticed the garage door of my apartment building was open. I peeked inside and saw the light was on over the banged up Miata in the back of the garage. A man looked out from behind it.

I introduced myself as a tenant in the building and asked what he was up to. “Building an electric car,” he said. He was taking some measurements for the fifteen batteries he’s getting ready to install. Each one weighs about 70 lbs, so he had to build special cases to support them in the trunk and engine areas of the car. He’s going to rebuild the suspension in the back of the car, since the chassis itself only weighs about 1000 lbs. His will be the third electric Miata in the world.

I oohed and ahhed and told him I had recently been tinkering with electric parts at my job at the Exploratorium. “Oh yeah? I used to be an Explainer there,” he said, grinning. Tristan the Explainer from 1972-3 is building an electric car in my basement. Once an Explainer, always an Explainer.

