How Does It Feel To Talk To A Fish?

by ryan

Ok, I’ll admit it. I was wrong. I used to doubt the ehibit “Talk to a Fish”. I thought it was super-lame- one of the lamest exhibits on the floor. I mean, come on…it’s a flourescent pink phone in a tank with a wierd blue fish. When you pick up the phone it makes muffled farting noises. What’s there to like about it?

Well, today I got the answer – A lot!

It all started about one o’clock when Dawn and I were roaming the mid and kept seeing the same group of kids huddled excitedly around Mr. Fish’s tank.

They were about third graders and were having the funniest conversation with the fish. They found out all about it including it’s birthday (May 18th) and it’s age (2 yrs old). They had some great questions for Mr. Fish and some equally awsome responses. For example…

Kid #1 – Do you know 5+5?
(A beat)
Kid #1 – Oh almost, actually it’s 10. (then to us) He said 9.

or

Kid #2 – Do you know your ABC’s
(pause)
Kid #2 – No, actually it’s A-B-C-D-E-F-G-H-I-J-K-L-M-N-O-P-Q-R-S-T-U-V-W-X-Y-Z…not F-I-S-H.

Through our interpreters we learned that all Mr. Fish wants for his birthday is the companionship of a fish of the same species. He originally wanted a goldfish for a friend but the kids informed him that fish only get along with the same type of fish.

Insipired by the connection, Dawn and I want to write “Mr. Fish From Fish Phone” (The Musical). If you want to help, let us know. Don’t forget to say “Happy Birthday” to Mr. Fish on Friday the 18th. He’ll only turn two once!

